Top Menu

Google Drive – Don’t lose access to shared documents!

As we prepare to end the school year, technology would like to alert you to items that may need your attention before you leave for the summer.  The use of Google Apps has grown dramatically over the past three years and staff are collaborating via the sharing tool on many great projects.  Here are some important notes to ensure you don’t lose items in Google Drive:

  • Specific to this time of year, we have staff who will be retiring or simply leaving the district.  If you have a document shared with you and a retiree or a person leaving is the owner, it will GO AWAY when they leave.  An automated process in the district will remove their account and when that happens you no longer see documents from that person.
  • Much like the above, if you have a document shared with you and the owner decides to trash the document it will no longer be available to you either.

How can you ensure this does not happen to a document you have shared with you?

  1. Ask the owner of a document to transfer ownership over to you.  Here is a link to the directions.
  2. Simply make a copy of any document, sheet or slide deck that you are not the owner of, and you will then become the owner of the copy.  This means that even if we delete a retiree’s account or a person trashes a document, you will have a copy.